A Personal Account of the Dangers of Natural Gas Drilling (Part 1) by Brandy

This piece is about something that is destroying our planet. Natural gas drilling. I’m not much of a writer but Chef encouraged me to post this to his blog because it is something that I feel very strongly about. When I moved to the Washington County, Pennsylvania, everything seemed so beautiful. There were miles of rolling hills, horse farms, fresh air and warm summer nights lying under the stars. Something that I was used to growing up in the country.
About a year later I started noticing these giant towers being erected. I did some research on this natural gas process and was not excited. They started popping up everywhere, even one about 1000 feet from my house. February 23rd, 2011, they finally started to flare the tower in my back yard. I went to work a little pissed off because when I walked outside, I could smell it, see it and hear it. Few hours later, it exploded. One of the scariest moments of my life. That was just the beginning.
I’ve gathered a few websites and videos that I’d like to share with you. Most of these websites feature people in my neighborhood talking about the natural gas industry and how it’s affecting their lives. Maybe you’re interested in the subject or just want to take a glance. Either way I encourage you all to get educated especially if you’re in an area that has succumbed to this completely irrational process.

This website explains how fracking works and the general questions that pertain to fracking.
http://www.gaslandthemovie.com/whats-fracking

FACT: Scientists have identified volatile organic compounds (VOCs) such as benzene, toluene, ethylbenzene and xylene are used in the fracking process.
Some of the known chemicals can be found here.
http://www.frackcheckwv.net/2011/04/17/investigation-yields-list-of-chemicals-used-in-fracking-many-are-known-carcinogens-regulated-pollutants/

FACT: Each well uses between 1-8 million gallons of water. This means at least 200 diesel fueled trucks traveling to and from the refineries.
Below is an article on the local news of the gas well that exploded near my home.
http://www.wpxi.com/news/news/3-injured-in-washington-co-gas-well-blast/nGpBT/

FACT: Because of methane levels, residents living close to the wells have reported being able to light their tap water on fire.
This next article is also done in my neighborhood. Cross Creek Lake has a run off which branches off and becomes a stream which flows through my back yard.

FACT: The chemicals being used in the fracking process can be breathed it, fall to the ground to contaminate the soil, and seep into the surface or ground water sources.
The next article gives you an idea of how frequent the chemical spills have been in Pennsylvania.
http://www.propublica.org/article/pas-gas-wells-booming-but-so-are-spills-127

FACT : At least 12 earthquakes that occurred in Ohio were caused by the injection of brine into hydraulic fracturing disposal wells.
Here is one of the many articles that can be found about this.
http://theenergycollective.com/nathanaelbaker/79021/fracking-ohio-establishes-tough-regulations-after-disposal-wells-cause-12-earth

Leave a Reply

